Hello dearest readers
Remember me?
While I've strayed into the dizzying heights of audio entertainment I have often thought it was high time I posted another post in this wonderful blog of mine!
I've just been discussing the word "swimmingly" with a good friend of mine Winnie Southgate, who is going as Winnie the witch to her Halloween thingymebob which I thought gave me some rather good material to stick in this blog.
University is great too. Thanks for asking.
Gawd. People sometimes. So bloody rude.
Anyways the thing we were discussing the word swimmingly. That's where I was. I think. Maybe. Who knows?
Back to reality (oops there goes gravity), yes swimmingly.
Generally used in the phrase; "it was all going swimmingly but..."
There's always a but isn't there! Nothing can ever just go swimmingly.
It's like "the party was going swimmingly apart from the two ambulance crews and a fire engine attempting to douse the huge flames that had already engulfed half of the guests" you just don't get things just going swimmingly.
You don't get a swear word before it either. Nothing goes "fucking swimmingly".
Frankly it just sounds wrong.
Like "fucking spiffing". It's just too posh for such vulgarities. (Yeh, vulgarities, it's a word, it's what 4 weeks of english language gets you. Don't push me or I will wack out another)
Anthropocentric. You bought that on yourselves.
But anyhow the word "swimmingly" is an interesting word.
Especially, as I often did on my Kayaking weekend away (My attempt at trying something manly *makes manly grunt and flexes pathetic muscles*) when you've just fallen out of a boat.
In this case, if things are going swimmingly, it's generally considered not to be a massively great thing. In this case there is no but. Unless you've just urinated in your wetsuit. In which case everything is going swimmingly but there's a nice warm tingle that makes everything seem like it's going to be okay.
Apart from the rapids. But hey. C'est la vie.
Going back to manly sports *manly noise, flexing of muscles* I've taken up 5-a-side.
Turns out I'm shit at football. Who knew?
Well that was brief. I was fantastic. You were mediocre.
This is dedicated to everyone who is missing me back home. I miss you too. Most of you.
Adam x
Note to Amy Johnson, I was not mentioned in your blog as people you are missing who have moved to university. I expect a full and public apology. Maybe then you'll go under the category "most of you" ;D
No comments:
Post a Comment